Category : Awards

14 Jul 2015

WSAJohn Paesano nominated for Public Choice Award for the World Soundtrack Awards for his work on “The Maze Runner”

The World Soundtrack Awards are awarded annually to mark and celebrate outstanding achievements in scoring music for motion pictures and to honour other achievements and composers as provided for in the rules and approved by the advisory board of the organizing body, the World Soundtrack Academy.

Launched in 2001 by Film Fest Gent, the World Soundtrack Academy is aimed at organizing and overseeing the educational, cultural and professional aspects of the art of film music, including the preservation of the history of the soundtrack and its worldwide promotion. The latter through the presentation of awards as well as through the development of several other promotional initiatives.

The awards should only be seen as a start. The World Soundtrack Academy is in the process of developing new initiatives that fit in the academy’s mission statement.

The academy also actively contributes to the study of this form of art through organizing seminarsworkshopsmaster classes, etc. as well as through the future publication of these studies and the development of an archive.

Together with Film Fest Gent, the World Soundtrack Academy will also develop initiatives that are aimed at offering a strong platform to emerging film music talent in Europe.

The idea to set up the academy actually comes from a number of film composers attending the festival, and who considered it best placed to create a non-profit structure that would be able to operate completely unbiased.

05 Feb 2015

2014ifmcaInternational Film Music Critics nominate John Paesano for “Breakthrough Composer Of The Year”  and “Best Original Score for an Action/Adventure/Thriller Film” for his work in “The Maze Runner”

(IFMCA) is an association of online, print and radio journalists who specialize in writing about original film and television music.  The IFMCA was originally formed in the late 1990s as the now-defunct “Film Music Critics Jury” by editor and journalist Mikael Carlsson, a member of the editorial staff at Music from the Movies for over ten years and a regular contributor to filmmusicradio.com and filmmusicmag.com. He is also the owner of the Swedish independent film music label MovieScore Media.  Since its inception, the IFMCA has grown to comprise over 50 members from countries as diverse as Australia, Belgium, Canada, Cyprus, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, the Netherlands, Poland, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, and the United States of America.

02 Feb 2013

John Paesano Wins Annie Award

John Paesano wins 2012 Annie Award Best Music in a Television Broadcast Production for his work in Dreamworks Animated Television Series “Dragons: Riders Of Berk”